sport

College Athlete Gets Scholarship Taken Away

Hey everyone! I hope everyone is having a great week so far. The last 7 days have been kind of slow regarding sports. HOWEVER, we’ll just have to work with what we have. Also, if any of you guys are American Football fans comment below your favorite team and how psyched you are for the football season! I have never done anything like that in any of my blogs before but today I thought, “Hey, why not?”   

The first thing I would like to discuss is the Panthers game against the Houston Texans yesterday. If anyone reading this who has been following my blog for a while would know that I am a Panthers fan. Well, if your new… I am a Panthers fan! Anyway, yesterday the Panthers played the Texans at the Bank of America Stadium and I didn’t really watch much of the game but I saw a lot of good plays by both teams. Halfway through the first quarter the Panthers had a good drive. Derek Anderson threw some good passes for some yards to the likes of Kelvin Benjamin and Greg Olsen. Christian McCaffrey also got a few chances to run the ball, picking up a first down on the way as well. The drive ended with a great pass from Derek Anderson to KB, who made an awesome catch. With seconds left in the first quarter the Texans running back, Alfred Blue, ran 16 yards for a touchdown. Nearly 7 minutes into the 2nd  Joe Webb Threw an absolute 50 yard BOMB to Damiere Byrd. The kick was good which made the score 14—7. Before the half Graham Gano made a 45-yard field goal to put the panthers up 10. A few minutes after half time Webb Hit Byrd again for another TD. Byrd had a fantastic game last night. With less than a minute left in the third Deshaun Watson ran in from fifteen yards for his first touchdown of his NFL career. The last points that were put on the board were from the rookie kicker out of Georgia Tech: Harrison Butker. He made a 51-yard field goal which would make the game 27-17. I hope Christian McCaffrey and Deshaun Watson will be good players in the NFL, they certainly look like they will. I also hope that the Panthers will at least make the playoffs this year… that would be cool. 

My second topic today is still going to involve American Football but this one is going to be about college football. About 11 days ago Youtuber (channel link here) and former UCF Kicker Donald De La Haye posted a video on his YouTube channel titled: ‘I lost my full D1 scholarship because of my Youtube channel..‘ Basically, he explained that his scholarship had been taken away from him because he was making money off YouTube. If you don’t know how people make money off of YouTube I will just explain it to you quickly. So, Youtubers get paid if they have ads on their videos and if people who watch the videos engage with the ads e.g. watching 30 seconds of the ad or visiting the advertiser’s website. Now, I don’t know too much about the NCAA rules on this kind of thing but I think that college athletes can’t have a job or make any money or anything like that but if you do know how it works feel free to comment it below. Long story short, Donald isn’t at UCF anymore (I don’t think anyway) and is still doing his YouTube channel. I don’t really like the fact that his scholarship was taken away from him but I guess the rules are rules. Also, I just really feel sorry for this guy and I just hope his YouTube channel blows up so he can earn some money to support him, his family and hopefully for him to go back to school. I know there won’t be many people reading this but if you are then it would be awesome if you check his channel out. Click this link right here.    

My final thing I would like to discuss is some of the ESPN 30 for 30’s that I watched a few days ago with 2 awesome people. The first one that I watched was called ‘The Billion Dollar Game’. It was about the first round game in the NCAA tournament between the Princeton Tigers and the Georgetown Hoyas in 1989. No-one expected the Tigers to even come close to the Hoyas… but the game went down to the wire. The Tigers ended up losing by 1 point on a controversial last play. However, that game went on to change NCAA Basketball forever. Before the game people didn’t want any lower level college teams (the underdogs) to play in the NCAA tournament. But AFTER, everyone wanted to have the ‘underdogs’ in the tournament because of the fact that Princeton had come close to taking down Alonzo Mourning and the Hoyas. 

Next week’s blog will probably be some football, an update on Donald De La Haye and I’ll probably watch some more 30 for 30’s. 

Thank you very much for reading and be sure to look out for my next blogs. 

TH1RT33N     😛

One thought on “College Athlete Gets Scholarship Taken Away

  1. Yo Th1rt33n,

    The NCAA makes billions of dollars, but Donald can’t make a few dollars off YouTube videos, it’s a joke!

    I am still undefeated in OFFICIAL games in the DBL.

    Champ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

